Just Another Meatless Monday

image

I’m not one to make New Year’s resolutions and by mid-February they are usually long forgotten.  This year I decided to try a different approach, by making a New Year’s “lifestyle change.”   I decided to embrace the idea of Meatless Monday.

Now the challenge is to cook for my fussy 4 year old and carnivorous husband without having pasta every Monday.  This is week 7 of the new year and each week is a new opportunity to make a delicious curry dish.  This week’s selection is winter squash (Queensland blue, I think).  It is the last of my winter CSA share and I have been at a loss for a great recipe for the great big squash.

I am growing tired of the winter weather here in Pennsylvania (I am so ready for my summer CSA), and I was feeling the need for some tropical flavors.  I found this recipe for coconut curried squash, but, as I’ve said before:

image

After nearly taking some large power tools to dissect the squash beast, I had a go at making delicious coconut curried squash.

image

Squash in Coconut Curry

2 med onions peeled and chopped extra fine
canola oil
2 teaspoons black mustard seeds
Cinnamon stick

Heat the oil and and the onion in large stockpot add the above spices and continue cooking until the onion is completely broken down – be patient this takes 20-30 min or more. Add a little water when it starts to stick.

2 heaping teaspoons garlic paste
1 heaping teaspoon ginger paste
2 teaspoons coriander powder
2 teaspoons turmeric powder
1 tablespoon cumin powder
1/4 teaspoon grains of paradise (or ground pepper)

Add above to the pot and mix till it looks like one hot mushy mess.  Cook just for a minute.

Add
3 cans of coconut milk
Add squash to pot, only enough so that it is still covered by coconut milk.  I used about 3/4 of my giant squash and saved the rest to roast.

image

It will look thin and soupy.  Bring mix to a low boil and cover.  Cook covered for 15 min, then uncover and cook until squash is soft but not mushy.

Finally, salt to taste and add a dash of garam masala and methi powder. I also threw in some chickpeas (one of the few things my daughter will always eat) and frozen veg near the end.  This would be great with some spinach tossed in, but I didn’t have any. Serve with spiced Basmati rice and voila another meatless (vegan!) Monday hit.

image

image

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking, food, vegan, vegetarian

Leave a Reply

